It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 04:22

All times are UTC+11:00

Post subject: Dusky Morwong Fish Curry
PostPosted: 01 May 2013, 21:58 
Novice Member

Attachment:
IMG_20130501_202621.jpg
IMG_20130501_202621.jpg [ 409.2 KiB | Viewed 12926 times ]
I thought I'd share a recipe which will hopefully change some of the opinions of Dusky Morwong. I took inspiration from a Neil Perry recipe and a mates suggestion and overall I was overly happy with the result as was my girlfriend. I'm new to spearing so bagging a 60cm dusky yesterday was great fun and I'd rather not waste the meat. Now I think I'll be targeting them!

FISH PREPARATION
I firstly filleted and skinned the fish, obviously removing all bones. Cut the fish into cubes roughly. The next step may be the most important. Soak the fish in milk for at least half an hour. The casein in the milk will soak up the trimethylamine which is the byproduct of bacteria breaking down the trimethylamine oxide found in ocean food. This causes the fishy smell and taste. Make sure to rinse off the milk with cold water when done.

Next mix a little flour, salt and cayenne pepper to coat the fish. Do this to taste but make sure it is salty. Once coated in the mix deep fry until nice and crispy. I made mine like popcorn chicken from kfc and it was still moist.

CURRY PREPARATION
Add finely chopped ginger, garlic and onion to a frypan with olive oil and sweat on medium heat. Add generous amounts of garam masala, paprika and tumeric powder, also adding a small amount of cumin and cinnamon powder (obviously the raw ingredients may be better plus chilli would be nice). Without burning the spices mix them through then add water or chicken stock. I just used water. Allow this to simmer for 15 minutes as it will bring out the flavour.

FINISHING OFF