It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 03:19

All times are UTC+11:00

PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 17:35 
Forum Member

Hey guys, I thought id try my hand at a very small aquaponics set up in my apartment (I'm an aquaculture student so thought id test some knowledge).

So far I've got most of what I need- pump, fish tank, parsley seeds, pebbles, plant pot, smalllength hose etc.

Just wondering if anyone has a backyard system or has any experience with aquaponics? im going to just start out with goldfish as they're dirty and will provide plenty of nutrients to the plants. If anyone has any knowledge or tips they would like to share, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

James

PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 17:47 
Fanatical Senior Member

I've helped set up for a mate an IBC with an NFT system instead of an aerator to give surface movement and an old bath as a grow bed. It has a washing machine as a sump which pumps into the IBC causing it to overflow into the grow bed. just got goldfish in it ATM but will be throwing in some silver perch in the next couple of weeks.
If you have any questions fire away, I've been mucking around with hydroponics and keeping/breeding fish for years.
Have you got some used filter media to seed your grow bed with? it makes a huge difference in the time it takes to build up the right bacteria. I'm happy to clean out a filter for you if you want. can give you a heap of vietnamese mint as well which has to be one of the best beginner/ small system plants.

PostPosted: 30 Nov 2012, 15:07 
Forum Member

Wow awesome. Yeah i was thinking a lot smaller scale than that... A fish tank of about 15L with a couple of goldfish, a plant pot filled with gravel (epoxy coated), and modify the fish filter to pump water into the plant pot which would trickle down back into the tank. Does this sound like it could work?

Just doing some reading here:
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/guide ... he-system/