It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 17:42

All times are UTC+11:00

Post subject: Putting out the feelers!
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2014, 22:04 
Novice Member

Good evening all,

Ive fancied trying spear fishing for a long while now! im new (ish) to the area, living in Clyde and im wondering where is the best place to look at getting some gear sorted out? any advice on what spear guns to look at and look away from? Also what gear is recommended as a minimum while "testing the waters". Im also interested to hear peoples opinions on where would be a good location to start diving as a complete novice and is a diving buddy an absoloute must?

I hope it isnt to many questions to start but I dare say I will have a lot more to ask.... lol

Many thanks in advance,

Chris

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2014, 01:20 
Forum Member

Port Phillip Bay would be good for you to start with, you're about 35min from Mt Eliza.

Western Port I'm pretty sure is just all mud on the north end and I've only really done flinders but that's about 50min from you.

Dive buddy I'd definitely say is a must. Safety first.

Mask and Snorkel would be handy to have :P

Can't think of any spear guns to look away from...

Any sling / spear gun should have some level of capability of getting a fish...

* There are a lot of topics on these forums, lots of info to be read. A lot of your questions would be answered somewhere or another :)

PostPosted: 15 Jan 2014, 10:12 
Novice Member

Cheap mask, snorkel, fins set will let you get out for some dives without breaking the bank. BCF has a pack for about $70-80 which is okay to start but you could always get a cheaper kmart pack.

Wetsuit is nice (really nice) but this time of year you could get some short dives in without one.